Committee of Vice-Chancellors
of Nigerian Universities

"... serving nigerian universities"

:: Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port-Harcourt | CVC Nigeria ::

Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port-Harcourt

+234 709 541 5002

The Rivers State University of Science and Technology (RSUST) Port Harcourt was established in October, 1980 from the Rivers State College of Science and Technology which was itself established in 1972. It is located at Nkpolu-Oroworukwo in Port Harcourt, the capital of Rivers State, Nigeria. It is the first Technological University in Nigeria and the first state owned State University in the Niger Delta region of Nigeria. The motto of the University is "Excellence and Creativity". The University has a staff strength of 1,870 and a student population of 29,939. The University is ranked as the 16th among 80 other Universities in Nigeria. The language of instruction in the institution is English.


The Mandate of the University

RSUST was established to:

  1. Produce scientific and technical manpower of various levels needed for essential development;
  2. Produce technical and science teachers for developmental programmes;
  3. Assist in the industrial and other developmental programmes through consultancy services, special project centres and related activities;
  4. Encourage the advancement of learning to all persons without distinction or race, creed, sex or political conviction the opportunity of acquiring a higher and liberal education;
  5. Provide courses of instruction and other facilities for the pursuit of learning in all the faculties and institutes, and to make facilities available on proper terms of such persons as are equipped to benefit from them;
  6. Encourage and promote scholarship and conduct research in all fields of learning and human endeavour;
  7. Relate its activities to the social, cultural and economic needs of the people of Nigeria; and
  8. Undertake any other activities appropriate for a University of the highest standard.

The University has seven faculties; Agriculture, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Law, Management Sciences, Science and Technical and Science Education; and a Postgraduate School. 

View All Universities