What started as a friendly competition between the University of Ibadan, Nigeria and the University of Ghana, later metamorphosed into the West Africa University Game with the first WAUG Games held in 1965 in the University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

The WAUG Games are aimed at fostering greater friendship among youths of the West African sub-region in addition to providing an opportunity for West African Universities to contribute to the development of highly skilled elite athletes among their students as done by Universities all over the world.

WAUG has continued to fulfill these objectives over the years. Athletes from WAUG Games have gone on to win medals for their countries in the World Universities Games, Commonwealth and the Olympic Games and they have also made life-time friends across their countries’ borders.

At present, Fourteen (14) West Africa Countries are active members of WAUG, represented by about 60 Universities. Only Cape Verde, Gambia and Mauritania are not represented yet in WAUG. So, literarily the WAUG Games can be called the ECOWAS Students Games.

The Universities are grouped into eight (8) zones geographically according to the number of member Universities. Four (4) of the zones are in Nigeria.

The organization rotates zones that will host the Games.


  • 1965 University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • 1967 University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana
  • 1969 University of Sierra Leone, Freetown, Sierra Leone
  • 1971 University of Lagos, Akoka, Nigeria
  • 1973 University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana
  • 1977 University of Ife Now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, Nigeria
  • 1981 National University of Cote D’Ivoire, Yamousoukro, Cote D’Ivoire
  • 1989 University of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
  • 1995 University of Benin, Benin City, Nigeria
  • 1999 Universite Nationale Du Benin, Rep of Benin
  • 2003 University of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
  • 2007/08 University of Ghana, Legon
  • 2011/12 University of Ilorin, Ilorin Nigeria