Committee of Vice-Chancellors
of Nigerian Universities

"... serving nigerian universities"



The Nigerian University Games Association (NUGA) was formed in 1965 by the five (5) Universities that were existing in Nigeria then. They are:

University of Ibadan, Ibadan

University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile-Ife

University of Lagos, Akoka

University of Nigeria Nsukka,

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

The association has grown over time and now has over 60 Universities as members.



The major objectives of the association are:

Promotion of friendship through participation in sporting activities among University students in Nigeria

Development of sports facilities in Nigerian Universities

Enhancing the development of sports in Nigeria through contribution of elite athletes from University sports competitions to the national teams.

From inception, the Secretariat of the Association moved from one host to the other. However in 1992, a new constitution was approved whereby members of the Executive Committee were elected by the Council. The new constitution provided that the Association be domiciled in the committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Universities. A fulltime Secretary was later appointed in 1996 under the Committee of Vice-Chancellors to run the affairs of the Association on day to day basis.



There are three levels of governance:

The Executive Committee made up of elected members and the Secretary General

The Council made up of three representatives (Chairman, University Sports Committee, Director of Sports and Student Sports Secretary) from each member university.

The General Assembly made up of the Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Universities.

The current Executive Committee was elected on 6th March, 2009 and will be in office four years. They are: Dr. Ken Anugweje - University of Port Harcourt, P/H - President

Prof. F.R. Harua - Ahmadu Bello University, Zaira - 1st V.President

Mr. A.A. Oladipo - Ladoke Akintola Univ. of Tech, Ogbomoso - 2nd V. President

Mr. B.A. Orodele - Secretary General (by Appointment)

Dr. A.C. Nnaedozie -Michael Okpara Univ. of Agric., Umudike - Treasurer

Alhaji Isyaku Ibrahim - Bayero University, Kano - Ex-Officio

Engr. M.A. Bawa - Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Univ., Bauchi - Ex-Officio

Dr. Ini Jona - University of Uyo, Uyo - Ex-Officio

Dr. Jonathan Uever - Benue State University, Makurdi - Ex-Officio



Fifteen sports are organized during the NUGA Games namely:

Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Chess, Cricket, Football, Handball, Hockey, Judo, Squash, Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis and Volleyball. Apart from Cricket and Football all other sports are organized for Men and Women. 



In view of the fact that the number of institutions have continued to increase over the years, the Universities are grouped together into seven zones


1. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria

3. Bayero University, Kano

4. Kano University of Technology, Wudil

5. Federal University of Technology, Minna

6. University of Abuja, Abuja

7. Nasarawa State University, Keffi

8. IBB University, Lapai

9. Kaduna State University, Kaduna

10. Katsina State University, Katsina.



1. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

2. Ladoke Akintola University, Ogbomosho

3. University of Ilorin, Ilorin

4. University of Ado Ekiti, Ado Ekiti

5. Federal University of Technology, Akure

6. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba

7. Achievers University, Owo

8. Osun State University, Osogbo

9. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji 



1. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

2. University of Benin, Benin City

3. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

4. Igbinedion University, Okada

5. Delta State University, Abraka

6. Kogi State University, Anyigba.

7. Federal University of Petroleum Res., Effurun



1. Imo State University, Owerri

2. Federal University of Technology, Owerri

3. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt

4. Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port Harcourt

5. University of Uyo, Uyo

6. University of Calabar, Calabar

7. Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island, Bayelsa State.

8. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar



1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

2. Adamawa State University, Mubi

3. University of Jos, Jos

4. Federal University of Technology, Yola

5. University of Agriculture, Makurdi

6. Benue State University, Makurdi. 

7. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri.

8. ABTI American University, Yola

9. Gombe State University, Gombe



1. University of Ibadan, Ibadan

2. University of Lagos, Akoka

3. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

4. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye

5. Lagos State University, Ojo

6. Redeemer’s University, Mowe

7. Bells University, Otta

8. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun

9. Lead City University, Ibadan



1. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

2. Abia State University, Uturu

3. Ebonyi State University, Abakiliki

4. Enugu State University of Science & Technology, Enugu

5. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka

6. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike.

7. Renaissance University, Agbani, Enugu State

8. Anambra State University of Tech., Uli



Host University.

Approved on 6th March, 2009




NUGA joined the International University Sports Federation (FISU) in 1970 and has continuously taken part in the World University Games and other activities of the Federation since then. 


Nigeria won her first medal (bronze) in 400 metres Men’s Low Hurdles men in the 1975 FISU Games held in Rome, Italy through Late Major Taiwo Ogunjobi who was then a student at the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile Ife 


NUGA hosted the 9th World University Chess Championship successfully in the year 2006 in Lagos. 


NUGA took part in the first two editions of the African Universities Games held in Accra, Ghana and Nairobi Kenya in 1974 and 1978/79, respectively. After several years the FASU Games had become moribund, NUGA assisted in resuscitating the Federation in the year 2002 at Abuja and eventually hosted the 3rd edition of FASU Games at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa , Bauchi in May, 2004.