Committee of Vice-Chancellors
of Nigerian Universities

"... serving nigerian universities"


The Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Universities (CVC) is a quasi-governmental, non-profit Organization that was established in 1962 by a resolution adopted at a meeting of Vice-Chancellors of the five Nigerian Universities at that time – (University of Ibadan, University of Nigeria, Nuskka, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, University of Lagos, Akoka, University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife) held in October, 1962 at the University of Ibadan.

In April, 1959, the Colonial Government appointed a Commission on Post-School Certificate and Higher Education in Nigeria under the Chairmanship of Sir Eric Ashby. The report of the Commission, ‘Investment in Education’ now popularly known as the ‘Ashby Report’ was submitted to Government in September, 1960 and its recommendations were accepted with few amendments. Following this, in 1962, the University of Lagos was established by the Federal Government while at the same time Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife) were established by the Northern and Western Regional Governments respectively. The Eastern Regional Government had earlier established the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 1960. The University Ibadan also became autonomous of the University of London in 1962 to which it had always maintained special academic relationship. An outgrowth of the Ashby Report was also the establishment of the National Universities Commission (NUC) in 1962, as a department in the Cabinet Office to oversea the activities of the Universities. The dependence of the Universities on Government subvention, the role and functions of the National Universities Commission, (NUC) and the need for a common forum made it incumbent upon the Universities to come together to exchange ideas and express joint opinions on matters affecting higher education generally in the country. Consequently, the Vice-Chancellors of Universities in the country agreed to follow a clear pattern which had proved invaluable in countries like United Kingdom Australia, New Zealand, India and Pakistan and to set up a body known as the Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Universities (CVC).